Club History


Naas GAA Club History


Naas GAA has a long and colourful history, this page will be updated regularly with news items and photographs detailing the history of the club since its foundation on 16th October 1887.


If anyone would like to contribute articles or photographs, please contact



To Spooners Lane & Beyond

To coincide with our 125th Anniversary (16th October 2013)  Liam McManus has kindly given us permission to publish his centenary book online, "To Spooners Lane & Beyond" charts the fascinating history of the club from 1887 - 1987. 

The book is available below at the following links


Chapter 1

Chapter 2  

Chapter 3  

Chapter 4  

Chapter 5  

Chapter 6  

Chapter 7  

Chapter 8  

Chapter 9  

Chapter 10  

Chapter 11

Chapter 12  

Chapter 13  



Role of Honour


Liam is currently working on the next edition which will chart the club's history for the past 25 years from 1987-2012, he hopes to publish this in late 2013.


Naas GAA Club Minutes 1887-1889

One of the most treasured items of history that we have in the club is the original minute book from the first 2 years of the club. Liam has painstakingly transcribed the minutes of those meetings which paint a colourful history of the founding of the club.

The minutes have now been scanned online and are available here:

Minutes of Naas GAA Club 1887-1889



Club Chairmen 1887-2013


























April 2011 

John Mc Mahon has been elected the new Chairman of Kildare GAA County Board.

With John McMahon's election to the Kildare County Board he has become the 7th Naas person to hold this position

Kildare County Board Chairpersons from Naas:

1887 - SG Brown (1st Ever Chairperson of County Board)

1889 - PJ Doyle

1904-1905 - WJ Rankins (Founder of Naas Hurling Club in 1902)

1920-1921 - JP Brophy

1934-1935 - Joe McDonald

1970-1971 - Ger Grehan

2011- John McMahon


In a two man race for the chair John defeated Athy's Eddie Lawlor in the vote held at the specially convened EGM held in Hawkfield today.

It is a great honour for Naas GAA to see our former club chairman elected to the post of Chairman of Kildare County Board and club officers, executive and members wish him all the best.

facebook twitter youtube