Aldridge Cup Carbury 1 - 15 Naas 0 - 11   13/03/2017

Carbury had seven points to spare over Naas in this Aldridge Cup tie at Carbury. Former County star Eoghan O’Flaherty had a terrific game scoring nine points in all. In the first twenty minutes the sides were level on three occasions before an Andrew Dermody goal gave Carbury a three point cushion. Naas fought back to narrow the gap but Carbury went in at half-time two points clear.

Carbury dominated the second half with former Kildare star Eoghan O’Flaherty scoring four points in the first ten minutes to put them in a commanding position. Naas only scored twice in the second half, the first of which came in the 22nd.minute.

Carbury started well with an Andrew Dermody point and an Eoghan O’Flaherty free. Naas equalised when Joey Cocoman pointed and Darragh Merriman pointed a  free. An Eoghan O’Flaherty”45” and a point from Danny Boyle edged Cabury two clear after ten minutes. A Ronan Joyce point reduced the arrears before Stephen McGlynn restored Carbury’s two point lead. It was all square at 0 – 5 each  after twenty minutes when Ronan Joyce had his second point and Shane Bergin scored a “45”.

The game changing score came a minute later when Andrew Dermody goaled from close range. A Ronan Joyce free and a Philip Cocoman point left one between them. The teams exchanged points with frees from Eoghan O’Flaherty and Ronan Joyce. Then Eoghan O’Flaherty and Joey Cocoman swapped points. An O’Flaherty point gave Carbury a two point lead at the interval  Carbury 1 – 8 Naas 0 – 9.

Carbury completely dominated the second half scoring six points without reply from O’Flaherty(4), Dale Redmond and Andrew Dermody (1 each). Naas scored their first point in the second half after 22 minutes when substitute Ciaran Doyle pointed a free. Carbry replied with a Colm Reilly point. Naas completed the scoring with a Brian Kane point.

Scorers: Carbury: Eoghan O’Flaherty (0 – 9), Andrew Dermody(1 – 2), Dale Redmond(0 – 1), Danny Boyle(0 – 1), Stephen McGlynn(0 – 1), Colm Reilly (0 – 1).

Naas: Ronan Joyce (0 – 4), Joey Cocoman(0 – 2), Shane Bergin, Philip Cocoman, Darragh Merriman,Ciaran Doyle and Brian Kane (0 – 1 each).

Carbury: Declan Conroy, Stephen McKeon, Willie Groome, Kevin O’Neill, Adrian Crinnigan, Morgan O’Flaherty, Michael Kelly, Alan Kearney, Seanie Moore, Danny Boyle, Eoghan O’Flaherty, Dale Redmond, Andrew Dermody, Terry Rossiter, Stephen McGlynn.

Naas: Luke Mullins, David Shaw, Shane Bergin, John Hill, Paul Sullivan, Oisin Gill, Ailin McDermott, Paul McDermott, Conor McCarthy, Joey Cocoman, Conor Mellett, Ronan Joyce, John Joyce, Philip Cocoman, Darragh Merriman. Subs Ciaran Doyle, Brian Kane, Barry Murphy.

Referee: Liam Herbert.


facebook twitter youtube