Senior Football Championship v Moorefield - Report   29/04/2019


MOOREFIELD       1  -  11       NAAS     0  -  7

Moorefield started their 2019 championship campaign in fine style with a seven point victory over Naas in very stormy conditions at St.Conleths on Saturday. Naas playing against a gale force wind were under the cosh from the start. Moorefield were quickly into their stride  with two points and a goal in the first six minutes. At half-time Moorefield led 1 – 9 to 0 – 1.

Naas dominated the second half but a ten minute spell in the middle of the half where they were held scoreless didn’t do their cause any good.

Moorefield were quick to avail of the strong breeze with 1 – 2 in the first six minutes. Eanna O’Connor was their chief marksman scoring six points including two “45”’s. They also had 1 - 1 from Ciaran Kelly and two points from Adam Tyrrell. Naas scored one point in the first half when Darragh Kirwan scored in the 29th. minute.

Naas started strongly in the second half with three points from Colm Joyce, Brian Stynes and Eamonn Callaghan. James Murray replied for Moorefield. Then Callaghan and O’Connor swapped points before Dallan Gallagher completed the scoring with two Naas points.

Scorers: Naas: Eamonn Callaghan(0 – 2), Dallan Gallagher(0 – 2), Darragh Kirwan, Colm Joyce, Brian Stynes(0 – 1 each).

Moorefield: Eanna O’Connor(0 – 7), Ciaran Kelly(1 – 1), Adam Tyrrell(0 – 2), James Murray(0 – 1)

Naas: Barry Reynolds , Adam Cronin, Conor McCarthy, Paul Sullivan, Brian Stynes, Brian Byrne, Davy Shaw, Brian Kane, Sean Cullen, Colm Joyce, Eamonn Callaghan, John Joyce, Ronan Joyce, Darragh Kirwan, Luke Griffin.

Moorefield: Ian McDonnell, Sean Dempsey, Liam Healy, Mark Dempsey, Kevin Murnaghan, Sean Healy, James Murray, Aaron Masterson, Adam Sweeney, Eanna O’Connor, Ciaran Kelly, Anthony Durney, Adam Tyrrell, Jason Phillips, Mark Mcdermott.

Referee: Niall Colgan.

facebook twitter youtube